11
Apr
15

the rebel spell – hopeless – breathe – exd session

UPDATE: Equalizing X Distort has now posted the entire Studio 3 Session…12 live-off-the-floor tracks from The Rebel Spell. Listen to/stream/download the tracks at the Equalizing X Distort blog or at the Equalizing X Distort archive

Back on November 11, 2014, The Rebel Spell recorded an interview and live session with Equalizing X Distort radio. Take a run through the entries below and you’ll find a video from that live session as well as the interview. Here’s a couple of tracks from the live session….

Hopeless

There is a deep deadly sadness growing inside of me it hurts to be here but I can’t leave
And if I found a way to walk away, well where then what would I be?
I’d be useless to you and worse to me and I don’t get any better on self-pity
I don’t get anything else just this bit of time so I, I, I, I

I’d like to help you up, I’ve got power to spare
Don’t believe for a second that there’s no one else there
I’ve got enough for you even in the depths of my despair
I will help you up, I’ve got power to spare

I feel the same way towards everything from a tiny worm to a leaning tree
I love the underdog every time I’m not sure why or what it means
Inequities in power compel me to try and overwhelming odds are when I thrive
I’m not happy just on my game and one more time I’ll try to explain

Breathe

We’ve heard a billion words about building and beginning, my biggest interest now is dismantle and diminish
The train of construction has had its time, if this is where it goes let’s end this line.
Too many people walking around half dead trapped in the dream of growth, a slow smoky death
We’ve progressed this place into a dying grey mess, before it’s too late draw in a last breath

Breathe! Are you living? My heart beats so hard it may tear itself right outta my chest.
Breathe and listen, if you hear your heart moving, well then you’ll know you’ve just cheated death

Living means retreating to things that work for us, not being dragged along through this mechanized dusk
Layers and layers of rules and constructs compound to make a pile of what?
A great arms race against real interaction and insidious self-loathing for our own imperfections
Accept this substitution for life or slow down, look around, stand up and fill your lungs

Breathe! Are you there? Can we do this? I’m waiting.
Breathe, look alive, pay attention, keep moving
It never gets easy unless you give up and if you do you won’t know because there is nothing after death


0 Responses to “the rebel spell – hopeless – breathe – exd session”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 38,063 hits
Follow Rebel Time Records on WordPress.com

